10 Videos You Could Use to Inspire Writing.

From the time teachers  first viewed The Piano by Aidan Gibbons on a training course, it suddenly became legitimate to use short independent film to inspire writing. Films like the Piano are perfect for lessons as they are often:

  • Emotive  and thought-provoking
  • Aesthetic – the animation is often captivating and of high quality
  • Short and therefore easy for children to take in and teachers to build questioning around
  • Original – as the children have not seen the film before they do not come at the clip with expectations or baggage.

I love finding clips which I use with my class as a weekly alternative to class story. Alternatively I use a well-chosen piece as part of our literacy work for a way into poetry or story writing.

I have also found that embedding a clip on our class blog has led to some excellent review writing.

Though I have watched these myself and feel they are appropriate to use in class, I do advise you to watch any of these clips all the way through and make up your own mind.

I would also advise trying to download these clips individually, rather than relying on viewing them in this rather long

CREATE – A stop motion short by Dan MacKenzie from Dan MacKenzie on Vimeo.

Stairs to no end from Daniella Koffler on Vimeo.

DreamGiver from Tyler Carter on Vimeo.

Pixels from Patrick JEAN on Vimeo.

Don’t Go from animaistanbul on Vimeo.


Ending Overfishing from OCEAN2012 on Vimeo.

The ghosts of Père Lachaise from ChezEddy on Vimeo.

The Chase (2012) – 3D Animated Action Short Film from Tomas Vergara on Vimeo.

Snow Sticks from Sim Warren on Vimeo.

5 comments on “10 Videos You Could Use to Inspire Writing.

  1. Good line up matey, I’ve used pixel to do a whole graphic arts unit on Pixel Art with the year 7 kids I teach… I’ll share what I’ve done this year in Cambodia when I’m back next week 🙂 anjum

  2. Pingback: Newsday Tuesday « Books and Bowel Movements

  3. Pingback: 4 More Videos to Inspire Writing In Key Stage 2 | Ant's ICT

  4. Pingback: Notebook – an animation look at reality in a digital age « Millard Fillmore's Bathtub

  5. Pingback: 5 More Videos to Inspire Writing | Ant's ICT

Leave a comment