What to aim for as a SLT

Not my usual ICT focussed content, but it was very apt for me as a senior leader. Paul offers some very wise advice for us all who have the privilege of leading and managing others.

paulbanks1974

What a good SLT should try to aim for…..

After many months of deliberation, I have finally decided to have a go at blogging. To start with, I’m going to have a go at trying to add to the debate that has been going around Twitter recently about SLTs in school. I should start by saying that I am a Headteacher in a large secondary school. I do not for one minute claim to have all the answers, nor am I claiming that everything is perfect with my leadership in my school-far from it. The next few paragraphs are about what I think an effective SLT should represent in a school and one in which my SLT try to aim for every day.

If you haven’t already read it, you really should read the excellent blog from @oldandrew entitled ‘ How to be bad SMT’ (http://teachingbattleground.wordpress.com/2013/10/19/how-to-be-bad-smt/).
I think there are…

View original post 1,470 more words

Leave a Reply

