App of the Day: Pocket Card Lab – Make Cards on your iPad for Free

Today’s app is a great way to create Christmas cards, well at least the front of the card anyway. I have experimented with this app with Reception Pupils and my own boys this week and I have been  pleased with the results. Pocket Card Lab  allows children to capture an image and then add clip art, text greetings and an attractive seasonal frame. The simplicity of the app means that for Charlie (4), it meant he could create a decent looking card almost entirely independently.

The finished card can be sent by email or saved to the camera roll to use elsewhere. Twitter and Facebook upload/ sharing is also available though this does need configuring in the settings. Did I mention that is a free app and therefore this makes this app even more appealing.

My only irritation with the app is that it could have a wider range of frames and clip art pieces, but then maybe too much choice is not such a great thing after all. Perhaps a premium edition could be developed which had more templates and functionality for other occasions not just Christmas. This is my first taste of app from Urbn Pockets and I must say the look and feel and the graphics have really impressed me. I am sure I am going to be trying out some of their other apps in the coming weeks. Their  My Body app looks amazing and looks like it will fit really well into Key Stage 1 and Year 3 science, but more of that in an up and coming post.

Here is a pretty bad video of me showing you how to make a card with Pocket Card Lab.

 

One comment on “App of the Day: Pocket Card Lab – Make Cards on your iPad for Free

  1. Pingback: Future Apps – 3 to try in 2013 | Ant's ICT

Leave a Reply

